Space Data Association (SDA)

The Space Data Association (SDA) has officially opened its call for nominations for the fourth T.S. Kelso Awards.

The esteemed award is presented by the SDA to an individual or group that has made an outstanding impact in the field of space flight safety. It is a recognition of substantial, innovative, long term and practical contributions to the advancement of space safety and the preservation of the space environment.

The issue of Space Situational Awareness (SSA) has recently been elevated in the consciousness of the space community as concern mounts over the potential long-term impact of space debris and the introduction of multi-orbit constellations that will dramatically increase the number of satellites in orbit.

The outstanding contribution or achievement may be in one or more of the following space disciplines: operations, applied research, technology, law, or policy. Previous winners are EU Space Surveillance and Tracking (EU SST), Dr Holger Krag of the European Space Agency (ESA), and the inaugural winner and award namesake, Dr. T.S Kelso.

Joe Chan, Chairman, the Space Data Association, commented: “Now more than ever, there are many individuals, organisations and teams that are championing the cause of SSA. The harsh reality is that, if we don’t act now to preserve our orbital environment, we risk losing our access to space. We look forward to celebrating the dedicated individuals or entities that are tackling this challenge and to celebrating their work with the T.S. Kelso award.”

The SDA welcomes nominations via the website along with a description of the contribution(s) made by the nominee(s) and rationale for the award. The closing date for nominations is August 5, 2024.

About the SDA
The Space Data Association Limited (SDA) is a non-profit international association of satellite operators that supports the controlled, reliable, and efficient sharing of data critical to the safety and integrity of the space environment. The SDA is open to all satellite operators and other participants. Its membership comprises many of the world’s major satellite communications companies, as well as key scientific, remote sensing, and environmental satellite system operators.